Phantogram’s New Album ‘Three’ is OUT NOW!


Today is the day everyone! Phantogram are back with new music after a year of making music and touring with Outkast’s Big Boi in their side-project Big Grams. Today the electro-pop duo released their third studio album appropriately named ‘Three’. As exciting as it is to get new music from one of our favorite bands, this album came from a sad place.

Earlier this year vocalist Sarah Barthel’s sister Becky passed away tragically and although band-mate Carter is not related to Barthel, having been friends for most of their life they both feel as though they’ve lost a sister. In interviews Sarah has said that this record “is about heartbreak” and that “the overall message is about how tragic life can be at times—how the world can bring you down… But you have to try to find the beauty in it sometimes.”. This brings to mind the theme of my favorite film ‘American Beauty’ which is that we want to be angry about the bad things that happen to us but it’s hard to stay mad when there’s so much beauty in the world. Sidenote: I will take any chance I get to talk about American Beauty (sorry not sorry). Back to Phantogram…

Continue reading

Phantogram: Nightlife (New Release)

Today Sarah Barthel and Josh Carter of Phantogram have released their third EP called “Nightlife”. I for one am very excited about the release. I just started getting into this band earlier in the Summer and ALMOST saw them at Lollapalooza…sadly my group and I waited for a couple hours to go into the city. have got to listen to this EP it’s great from beginning to end! My fave track is “Don’t Move” which I already used for my song of the day last week BUT listen to that song specifically, the beat is amazing!!

Oh and here is the EP’s Track List…. 🙂 Happy Listening!

             Track List

  1. 16 Years- 3:56
  2. Don’t Move- 4:18
  3. Turning Into Stone- 4:54
  4. Make a Fist- 4:36
  5. Nightlife- 4:06
  6. Dark Tunnel- 5:29