Happy Mylo Xyloto Day!

Eeeek! It is October 24th and do you know what that means fellow music lover?? I will tell you! It means that one of my absolute favorite bands, Coldplay has released their newest album Mylo Xyloto to the world!!!!!!!!! Oh Happy Day!! You know, for a while Coldplay had dropped from my radar right up until I saw them play the most amazing live show I had ever seen in my life at Lollapalooza 2011! After that I went crazy searching all the unfamiliar songs they had played only to find out I had to wait 2 months to hear it again :(. Well, the wait is over and by the time I get home from work today there SHOULD be a nice little package in my mailbox just waiting to be opened and played!! If you didn’t pre-order…get your ass to Target and BUY IT!! Seriously…what i’ve already heard from this album  has proved to me, there will be NO disappointment.

This is the bands fifth studio album and the first one to have a theme which Chris Martin says is “based on a love story with a happy ending, in which two protagonists: Mylo and Xyloto, who are living in an oppressive, dystopian urban environment, meet one another through a gang called “The Lost Boys”, and fall in love”. Martin says that the album was also inspired by the HBO TV show “The Wire“. I recently read an article in Spin (my #1 music source) about the album, and when asked about it the band says they feel “It’s Us Against the World” which is coincidentally a track from their new album. Well Coldplay, from that grassy patch in Grant Park where I stood.. I saw millions of Lollapalooza goers (including myself) who were brought together by a love for your music and I think it’s safe to say…we proved you wrong! 🙂

When I listen to anything by Coldplay I feel like I’m in a whole other world. Their music relaxes me, excites me, makes me want to cry, makes me want to scream! Coldplay is absolutely my life’s soundtrack and why wouldn’t I be excited for that soundtrack to expand! I can’t wait to listen to the album through and through! If any of you have listened to it, tell me what you think!!! As always, Happy Listening! And here is the album’s track list….

1. Mylo Xyloto
2. Hurts Like Heaven
3. Paradise
4. Charlie Brown
5. Us Against The World
6. M.M.I.X.
7. Every Teardrop Is A Waterfall
8. Major Minus
9. U.F.O.
10. Princess Of China
11. Up In Flames
12. A Hopeful Transmission
13. Don’t Let It Break Your Heart
14. Up With The Birds


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s